Stuffed Silly! A DIY Stuffed Animal Backpack

Whether I’m in an amusement park, at the mall, or on a jog through the park with my dog, I constantly find myself running into people with stuffed animal backpacks. I don’t know what it is about these backpacks, but I’ve always found them to be absolutely adorable! When I was younger, I myself had an Eeyore and Pooh bear stuffed animal backpack and I would carry them around with me all the time. Now that I’m older, I thought it might be fun to make a backpack out of a random stuffed animal.

I’ve never done this before, but I ran into this GREAT guide on epbot.com (which I’ll share with you all below that will definitely guide e through the process. If any of you have a DIY itch, this should fulfill your mini-project yearning.

First things first, if you want to do this project, you’ll need to pick a stuffed animal. A monkey is a great choice because they have long arms and legs, so you’ll need less string to attach, meaning a more fun, happy, and cute looking backpack.

Start by opening their back and yanking out most of the stuffing.

IMG_9484

IMG_9489

Next, you’ll want to create the bag that goes inside your stuffed animal’s back. Try and look for some fabric that mostly matches the color of your plushie.

Place a plate inside the open back to determine how much room you have, then use that plate as a template to draw two circles on the fabric. You’ll also want to cut out a long rectangle of the fabric, like so:

IMG_9490

Now to put that fabric together to create a pouch. Create a cylindrical shape and pin and sew the circular pieces of fabric to the “top” and “bottom” of the cylinder, making sure to leave a slit, like this:

IMG_9493

IMG_9498

Side view of pouch.

You want the “good side” of the fabric to be on the inside, and you’ll finish off by adding a zipper to the slit (plastic, not metal).

IMG_9499

Now, stuff your pouch into the stuffed animal’s back and hand-stitch around the zippers edges. To create the straps for the backpack, you’ll need to somehow attach the plushie’s hands and feet. Find a strap that you can cut into 4 sections (also a matching color, or black as an alternative) and attach D rings to two of the ends. Open up your plushie’s paw just a bit. . .

IMG_9507

. . . And place in the end of the strap that doesn’t have the D ring. If you’re placing in a strap that doesn’t have D rings at all, either end will work. MAKE SURE that the straps with the D rings are on the hands, not the feet, as this will make it easiert to adjust the straps. Hand sew everything shut to finish. . .

IMG_9512

monkey (1)

. . . And you’ve got yourself a stuffed animal backpack!

IMG_9529

Leave a comment